Blocked.

Now I know (I think) what it feels like to have a blocked duct. It’s horrible!

I don’t know why or how it happened, maybe it was some tight clothing/bra and/or a long gap between pumps but whatever it is, it hurts like hell. My left breast has been a bit of an under performer when it comes to milk production which is why it often gets neglected when its time for a massage before pumping. But today it is so so sore. It hurts to just graze my finger over it (especially a path over the top of it) and I actually cried when I had to massage it. I could’ve stayed under the steaming hot shower for ages just to ease the pain. It hurts so badly. I only hope it goes away without any medication or anything. Every single resource I refer to says I should just directly latch my baby onto the affected breast for it to unblock and the pain to eventually subside but why don’t they have resources with information for women who are exclusively pumping like me?! I pump because my baby doesn’t latch so you telling me I should latch to relieve a problem is pointless isn’t it?

Anyway, its not a good day for me and I hope this too shall pass sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

