Pump Pump the Jam!

Why can’t every airport be like Changi? It’s not just about the cleanliness, or the butterfly garden, the free osim massage chairs (why do other airports charge you for that?) or the fabulous toilets which are ALWAYS clean. Its not even about the fact that pharmacies and convenience stores are all over the place (I could not find a pharmacy in Frankfurt once – had a splitting headache with my period and had to buy some ibuprofen and some sanitary pads – nothing to be found) or the free unlimited wireless internet. For an exclusively pumping mom like me, its about the pumping rooms. 🙂

In fact Singapore on the whole is fairly kind to pumpers. Malls have pumping rooms, the airport has it, the amusement parks have them and overall its not such a pain to be out and about here. Flying back from or way this month I was wary about my pump schedule. Would I be able to do it on time and in a convenient place?

Stavanger Airport was out of the question. There is simply no privacy, not even a place to sit (unless you sit on the commode) and there are no nursing rooms (that I could find) So I waited till I got into Amsterdam for the stopover.

Now I heard about Schipol being done up recently and that they have this fabulous ‘Holland Boulevard’ which caters to mums and babes so I was eager to find it and see for myself.

Rright, well, its nice – all new and funky looking. They have these living room kinda set ups where people can watch tv and sit around resting. ut I was most interested in their nursing rooms.

For one, its huge! about 6 (maybe if not more) curtained off cubicles with a smallish seat and a huge cot bed like thing in the middle. Now my gripe starts here. The cot bed is probably made for older babies. Because its so so low! if you bend that low to place your 5 month old in, its going to really strain yor back trying to lift them out again. Plus it wasn’t super clean (Singapore has spoiled me) But my main problem was that there were no plug points. There were a few along the wall, but no place to sit next to them so you just kind of stand around it. How was I supposed to pump? (I was conserving my battery for the long flight)

Anyway, I managed to plug it into a socket which was more or less close to the cubicle, passed it under the curtain and then because it fell short, sat on top of the ledge (very uncomfortable) and pumped my 40 min pump. And wished I was in Changi desperately.

Other than that though the place was quite nice. There was a changing table, a huge sink, a microwave and I think some hot/cold water. Still, the world needs to be a kinder place to pumping mums.

Oh Europe! take a leaf from Asia’s book and get these small things right – it will make a world of difference to your service standards!

 

Leave a Reply

